Wednesday, 9 September 2015

AIM Awards 2015

The AIM Awards are out, held at a star studden event at the Brewery in London EC1, attended by a host of indie label bods, indie festival organisers, publishers, merchandisers - well anyone who is anyone in independent music, including ever irrepresible Michael Eavis and that Noel Gallagher chappie, Tom Robison, The Charlatans Tim Burgess and Radio 1's Huw Stephens. Winners on the night included a delighted Wolf Alice, who won Independent Breakthrough, All Time Low won Best Live Act, Swans won Hardest Working Act, Young Fathers won 'Best Difficult Second Album' for 'White Men are Black Men Too', Brainchild won the 'Golden Welly Award' for best independent fetsival and the Ninja team (Matt, Peter and Johnathan) won the indie Innovator Award.

Transgressive won the Independent Label of the Year Award, the PPL Award went to Jungle, Enter Shakira picked up Indie Album of The Year for 'The Midsweep', FKA Twings was ever so pleased to get Track of the Year for 'Two Weeks',  Skepta won the 'Outstanding Contribution' Award and Digby Prarson from Earache Records picked up the Pioneer Award and Marc Riley got the Indie Champion gong. Always kicked the whole thing off with a live show. Well done all! 

Drowned In Sound have put together a Spotify playlist, offering a taste of 2015's AIM Awards nominees. The playlist highlights the incredible year independent music is having and features a wide range of winners and nominees from this year's Awards. Click here to give the playlist a spin!

No comments:

Post a Comment